2317 Central Avenue,
24 people favorited this theater
Alameda Theatre (Official)
Previously operated by: Nasser Bros. Theaters
Architects: Timothy L. Pflueger
Functions: Movies (First Run)
Styles: Art Deco
Previous Names: Alameda 3
News About This Theater
- May 25, 2011 — Theater operator wanted
- Jan 28, 2009 — Redevelopment Association honors Alameda Theatre
- Aug 20, 2008 — Gala funds pay to restore Alameda Theatre's 1932 mural
- Jul 9, 2008 — Alameda Theatre cuts corners with non-union workers
- May 9, 2008 — Theatre Historical Society Conclave To Visit Bay Area
- Mar 5, 2007 — Fight for the Alameda
- Nov 9, 2005 — SFMOMA Showcases Local Theater Drawings By Timothy L. Pflueger
- Jun 30, 2005 — Concerns Over Historic Alameda Theater Project
The Alameda Theatre originally opened August 16, 1932 with Marion Nixon in “Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm” & Laurel & Hardy in “The Chimp”. It had a seating capacity of 2,168. It was operated by the Nasser Bros. Theaters chain. It became a triplex on March 12, 1975 and closed in the 1980’s. It was later used as a gymnastics studio.
In 2005, plans were proposed to renovate and re-open the theatre. The original auditorium has reverted back to one space, with seven additional screens built next to the theatre, designed by the architectural firm The Henry Architects. The Alameda Theatre re-opened May 21, 2008.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.