151 S. Main Street,
1 person favorited this theater
Previous Names: Crown Theatre
The Orpheum Theatre opened on April 2, 1908 at W. Center Street & S. Main Street. It actually occupied the eastern 2/3 of the building, with an address of 250 W. Center Street. On Oct 15, 1908 a fire closed the facility for 13 days.
The Crown Theatre opened at 151 S. Main Street on April 14, 1916 and the Orpheum Theatre moved to this location about a year later. This address is also shown as 147 S. Main Street in later city directories. The last city directory entry for the Orpheum Theatre is 1969.
In 1973 the building burned, taking the front part of the adjoining Capitol Theatre with it. The original W. Center Street building still stands as the Paris Women’s Store. The south wall of the S. Main Street building remains, while the rest of the location is now a parking lot. During the 1950’s and 1960’s this was a second run theatre, and the next to the nicest theatre in town, surpassed only by the Chief Theatre.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.