949 El Camino Real,
4 people favorited this theater
Guild Theatre (Official)
Previously operated by: Landmark Theatres (USA)
Architects: Alexander Aimwell Cantin
Styles: Streamline Moderne
Previous Names: Menlo Theatre
News About This Theater
- Nov 21, 2007 — Plans to purchase and restore the Park Theater fall through
Built as the Menlo Theatre in 1926 it opened on May 6, 1926 with Mary Carr in “King of the Turf”. It was equipped with an organ (make unknown). It is a short drive north of the Stanford Shopping Center and nestled right next to downtown Menlo Park. Originally built as a burlesque house and converted to exhibit movies in the 1940’s. It was renamed Guild Theatre on March 30, 1948 with Celia Johnson in “This Happy Breed”. It is the oldest standing theatre on the San Francisco Peninsula, featuring two giant golden wings on either side of its gloriously large screen. Operated by Landmark Theatres since 1989, the Guild Theatre featured the finest in independent film and foreign language cinema. It was closed on September 26, 2019.
Following renovations it reopened as a live music venue on February 18, 2022. It has a capacity for 600 persons.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.