Strand Theatre

614 Locust Street,
Des Moines, IA 50309

Unfavorite No one has favorited this theater yet

Additional Info

Architects: Roland 'Tip' Goucher Harrison, Frank E. Wetherell

Firms: Proudfoot, Bird & Rawson, Wetherell & Harrison

Nearby Theaters

Strand Theatre, Des Moines, Iowa in 1930

Built on the site of the Bijou Theatre which became the Nickeldon in 1906 and the Unique Theatre in 1908. The Strand Theatre was built in 1920 and opened February 1, 1921 with Agnes Ayers in “Forbidden Fruit”. It was equipped with a 3 manual Moller organ. In 1947 it was remodeled to the plans of Des Moines, IA architectural firm Wetherell & Harrison.

The Strand Theatre was closed in the fall of 1953 and was converted into Frankel’s store.

Contributed by Bryan Krefft

Recent comments (view all 5 comments)

kencmcintyre on July 10, 2007 at 4:07 am

The Strand was formerly called the Nickeldom and the Unique. There is a photo of the Unique Theater on this blog:

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on February 13, 2012 at 3:28 pm

A.H. Blank had recently opened the Strand at Des Moines, according to the March 1, 1921, issue of The Film Daily.

Joe Vogel
Joe Vogel on February 22, 2016 at 2:08 am

A notice that J. A. Getchell and B. F. Elbert had leased the Bijou Theatre, a vaudeville house, from Fred Buchanan and would remodel and reopen it as a movie house called the Nickeldom appeared in the May 1, 1906, issue of The Des Moines Register.

A reminiscence by Mr. Adrian D. Sharpe in the September-October issue of Bandwagon, the journal of the Circus Historical Society, recalls that in Des Moines, in October, 1905, he met “…Mr. Buchanan, who operated the Bijou Theatre, a small store room picture house playing some vaudeville….”

The Lost Cinemas of Greater Des Moines web site (kencmcintyre’s link of July 9, 2007) says that the house was renamed the Unique Theatre in 1908.

dallasmovietheaters on February 23, 2016 at 4:51 am

The Bijou/Nickeldom/Unique was torn down. This Strand entry should begin on February 1, 1921 and end in late Fall 1953 when the theatre is sold to Frankel’s which converts the theater to a retail store. The theatre building was architected by Proudfoot, Bird, and Rowan. The first Strand was at 415 Eighth Street and has no entry at present. And the Bijou/Nickeldom/Unique can be found under Nickeldom. The first Bijou is under its own name.

You must login before making a comment.

New Comment

Subscribe Want to be emailed when a new comment is posted about this theater?
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.