2 people favorited this theater
Firms: Harry W. Weedon Partnership
Styles: Art Deco
Previous Names: Odeon, Classic Cinema
News About This Theater
A magnificent building, both the exterior and interior were stunning. It first opened on 11th July 1936 as the Odeon, part of the Oscar Deutsch ‘Odeon Theatres’ chain. The programme for the opening week was Errol Flynn in “Captain Blood”. Seating was provided for 806 in the stalls and 468 in the circle.
The exterior was dominated by a slender fin tower feature over the entrance and inside the auditorium there was a simple Art Deco styling with a plain ceiling which was illuminated by a trough which surrounded along the walls.
The Odeon was taken over by Classic Cinemas from 10th December 1967 and re-named Classic Cinema. From 8th January 1978 it was taken over by an independent operator and re-named Film Centre. It was converted into a triple screen operation in April 1981 with 605 seats in the former stalls and two screens in the former circle each seating 125 and 138. In May 1991 the rear stalls area was divided into two screens, each seating 70 persons.
The Film Centre was closed on 23rd August 2007 due to a new purpose built 4-screen cinema which was planned to open in the town in late 2008 or early 2009. It was demolished in October 2007 to make way for a new town centre development.
Just login to your account and subscribe to this theater.