Gem Electric Palace

6 Bullough Street,
Atherton, M46 0DL

Unfavorite No one has favorited this theater yet

Showing 2 comments

popcorn_pete on October 9, 2018 at 10:33 am

Proprietors were Swailes and Lowther, Edmund Walton by 1917 and Eagle Picturedrome Company by 1921. The first manager was Rex Sugden. Auditorium had tip-up seats in the stalls and circle with tip-up forms in the pit. First weeks programme consisted of: East Lynne; Rowdy and his Pal; A Young Writer Goes in Search of Local Colour; Lumbering in Australia; Willie and his Birthday Present. Last films advertised were for the w/c 27 December 1926 and were Why Women Love and The Wonderful Adventure. Believed to have closed when the Savoy opened in January 1927.

popcorn_pete on August 8, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Evidently purpose-built and opening on 29 July 1912.